register | account recovery | profile | help / abiinfo | search
show today's posts | mark all read
ukraina
tqhq.ee foorum : Modifitseerimine : jyrki - ? mootori kohta  
Poster Message
peep

jyrki - ? mootori kohta
Can you list what main components it has and what it would take money wise to build similar thing (rough estimation).
20.04.2001 at 12:21
jyrki
jyrki - ? mootori kohta
OK. First some explanations. I have been building these cars for over twenty years and have gathered parts and knowledge during these years. I have made some good deals during these years and swapped parts to other parts, so the expenses have been spread to a wide period. For the last ten years or so I've had an other job to finance this hobby and all the expenses of normal life are paid from my day job. Lately I have bought parts that I have been interested in and the same kind of results could be had way cheaper with more careful shopping and patience. But here is the list and the aproximate new prices in dollars of the very parts in my engine

Oil pan, self made ?$
Fluidamper 300$
Crank 1200$
Rods 1200$
Pistons and rings 900$
Gear drive 400$
Block 4600$
Cam&liters 650$
Cylinder heads, intake and valvetrain 5200$
Ignition 600$
Carburator 1000$
Headers 200$, self made froma Hedman kit
Miscannelous ~2000$
So it would cost around 18000$ to duplicate my engine with new parts. With a little different parts I think the same results could be achieved with about 1/3 - 1/2 less.

There is a lot of used chevy parts available to build a chevy BB cheaper and if I should build a Mopar I would propably go Hemi using old Top Methanol or TF parts where possible. One good place to save money is to buy a complete used engine as a starting point and begin from there. That's what I did with this engine five years ago; I paid about 3000$ worth for it and still have the crank, rods, gear drive, heads and intake out of that engine.