register | account recovery | profile | help / abiinfo | search
show today's posts | mark all read
ukraina
tqhq.ee foorum : In English : New here, just saying hello  
Poster Message
TireFire1986
New here, just saying hello
Hey, finally, a great site that knows the truth, horsepower is what you buy, torque is what you drive! Hopefully within a few weeks, I will be lowering a 454 into my 1986 Z28 camaro. I have been working on the motor for a few months. I spent a whole summer working so I could afford a tremic 5 speed transmission that could handle the torque. The transmission cost $2200. Cleaning the block and heads, along with a .030 bore job, and 3 angle valve job cost $400, and the 454 rebuild kit cost about $400. I will be buying an 9 inch rear end housing from http://www.moserengineering.com/ as soon as I save up enough money. My dad has a whole rack of rear end gears for the 9 inch housing, and I bought a detroit locker to go with it.

Maybe with 4.86 gears in the rear, and some good traction, I can pull the front wheels... or put the 2.50 ratio in the rear and hit a top speed of 300 km/hr at 4000 rpm...

Anyway, just wanted to let you guys know what I am up to. I would be glad to answer any questions about stuff, but I'm still learning Estonian as a second language ;-)
03.05.2001 at 06:45
jyrki
Hope you have some chassis mods in that car. I believe that with the 4.86 gears, the fifth gear is all you need to fry the tires.
03.05.2001 at 06:58
peep

Guys with BB cars are always welcome here.:)

So you are from States ?

Don't know if you noticed, but one of our members has 3-gen Camaro with 454 in it. It is out of truck, but for this summer it will be hopped up with heads, forged pistons and some other stuff. You can check it out here, if you haven't done it already:
http://www.tqhq.ee/est/cars/lauri.htm

BTW, what are you planning exhaust wise, seems that it's quite big PITA to install headers with this combo ?